//
you're reading...
Writing Life

Summer

 In a week, I will be done with my first year of graduate school!
To say  it flew by would be an understatement.  Strange because every single day seemed to come with its own challenges and I had to take things one day at a time or I would have gone insane.
By monday, I will be done . With classes anyway, there’s still work but  without the mania of projects, I should be able to make a writing schedule and stick to it. Only I made one at the beginning of the year and I didn’t stick to it.
So curious, does anyone make writing schedules especially during busy crazy times? Any suggestions. What works for you? 

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Summer

  1. Whoa. Congratulations for getting this far 😉

    Like

    Posted by stringless_kite | May 5, 2010, 7:30 AM
    • Thanks. I know what you mean about taking courses that aren’t related to writing or the arts and my coursework is so demanding that if I get really into writing then it suffers. I don’t think it’s a multitasking issue. Engineering courses are well-known time consumers and there just isnt enough hours in the day to do both unless I take out sleep. Oh well, I will do my best to write in the summer

      Like

      Posted by mdirvine | May 5, 2010, 2:47 PM
      • Time-consuming courses. Haha. I think nursing is one too xD I just don’t have the energy to write something decent after being drained with uni & clinical placements. Good luck with writing this summer! 😉

        Like

        Posted by stringless_kite | May 8, 2010, 12:55 AM
  2. I’d say stick to summer. I wasn’t an engineer, but still in science and I know how demanding those courses were. Unless your’re only going to write a page a week or something during school, summer seems to be where most free time is, if you can call it that. Good luck!

    Like

    Posted by luckymnlassie | May 17, 2010, 1:37 PM
    • yeah science courses are time consuming. I just think in graduate school professors expect courses/school/research to be your life and to take up every second of my time even for the summer.
      Ex: Today, for those of us doing research in the summer(unpaid 40 hrs a week for me ), my prof has decided to change mandatory weekly meetings from thurs to friday 4:30-6 there goes any chance of decent out of town weekend plans …not cool
      I’ll need all the luck for this summer for sure

      Like

      Posted by mdirvine | May 18, 2010, 3:40 AM
