//
you're reading...
Writing Industry

Recommended Book: Mystery novel with a vampire twist…

BloodList P.N.Elrod

Bloodlist by Elrod

I’m not sure where I heard about this book. It was recommended to me as a good mystery read and I’ve always liked a great mystery. However, when I looked at the book cover, I realized the main character was a vampire. I stalled. I still haven’t read the twilight books. The only vampire books I had read were Anne Rice’s and they were good. So I decided to give it a shot anyway.

The story seemed to be set in the late ’30s before the end of the depression. It seemed to be a hard broiled detective story & because of the time period I figured it would stay true to most of the original vampire attributes (it follows more of Bram Stoker’s Dracula).

A vampire story with a noir twist or A mystery novel with a vampire twist.

I had no idea what to expect and I was hooked in the first few pages despite the lousy cover art.

The main character Jack Fleming wakes up on the side of the road. His shirt has a bullet hole or 2 in it . He is covered in bruises and his heart is not beating. He’s dead. He is also a vampire. (That gave me a start but we learn why he isn’t surprised that he is a vampire later on)

He is a journalist and the last thing he remembers is investigating a story in chicago, leaving his hotel and then waking up on the road. He had definitely stepped on someone’s toes.(Chicago is mobster & gangster filled at this time)

Unfortunately, he can’t remember anything that happened the day he died along with a few days before that too.

Anyways, the book follows him as he tries to solve his own murder.

Smooth read. Great mystery. Humorous and all sorts of amazing.
I’m still reading. Turns out it’s the first book in a series.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

