//
you're reading...
Contests/Give Aways

Teaser1-NaNoWriMo 2010

I’m taking a page out of julieeshbaugh’s livejournal and doing a teaser of my NaNoWriMo project Child of Truth

 

 

Investigative journalist, Sera Ramsey has landed the biggest story in her career, discovering a sham adoption agency whose children had been stolen from parents. However, the press surrounding this story might bury her career if she doesn’t reconnect the families soon. It is not easy, huge sums of money are involved and the paper trails are non-existent. She suspects that she is being stonewalled from finding answers not only about these kids’ adoption but about the adoption most important to her- her own

When I woke up and Silva wasn’t beside me, I knew we were back to the off in our on and off relationship. Scrambling out of bed, I headed to the corner of my room where I dumped my purse and pulled out my wallet. I stopped putting anything beyond a twenty in there but the week before, I had gone with some people from work to an Italian restaurant that only took cash so I had put two-hundred dollar bills in there. Sure enough one bill was missing. Damn Silva. If he did return home, he would ask what’s the big deal, it wasn’t like it would put a dent on my finances. He was right but that didn’t mean I liked it. I questioned myself for the umpteenth time why I put up with Silva’s shit and the answer came back to me just as clearly, he was the only one who could put up with me. My phone started shrilling but I was up anyway, and I dismissed the alarm, jumping into the shower. While getting dressed, I noticed that my black roots had started to show in the hair I’d been dyeing pale blond since my teens. This really wasn’t looking up to be a good day. With a sigh, I picked up my purse, ensuring I had my digital recorder and my press pass before heading out of my apartment, down the corridor to the elevator which took me to the parking garage. The sun was just starting to rise and the traffic in LA was still horrendous, worse because summer holidays had officially started, it was no wonder I had spent the last few nights in my office. I wondered if that was why I hadn’t noticed the usual hints that Silva was about to bolt. I couldn’t worry about Silva right now. I focused on the road, turning on the radio but I paid it no mind. The drive was forty minutes in traffic and I walked into the office where people were already milling about. The weather guy was recording his forecast and I wished I had his job, it didn’t take much sense to know that the weather in LA stayed the same almost always.

“Sera”

Marge motioned me over to her desk. “Looks like a neighbor reported hearing a disturbance in the Diaz’s place last night. The police checked it out, said everything was fine but I figured you’d want to stop by anyway.”

“Thanks”

I didn’t have many friends, okay I didn’t have any friends because I could be overly ambitious. I was always surrounded by people at work, at parties but when it came down to it, I really couldn’t tell any one of those people anything personal. Marge was the closest thing to a friend I had and when I did break down after one martini into a blubbering mess about the latest in my life, she didn’t let me ignore her the next day. She’d go “Don’t think you can ignore me S” and even though I wanted to duck down into a corner and hide, I’d say “Back at ya.” and we’d go back to normal again.  Thinking about messes, made me think about Silva and I must have had a look on my face because Marge said “What are you frowning about?”

“Silva”

She rolled her eyes “What’d he do this time?”

I shook my head. “I’ll fill you in after I stop by to see Abby and Tex”

Abby and Tex Diaz were my main leads on the major assignment I was working on. Abby had been adopted by the Diaz’s as a baby and Tex was adopted a few years after. I clenched my jaw. If there were two people that didnot deserve those children, they were their parents, constantly fighting and yelling and Abby looked like she was Tex’s age. He was seven. She was twelve and with that malnutrition I doubted her body would hit puberty when it was supposed too. The only thing that clued you on to her age was that potty mouth of hers.

I had tried to get them out of the hands of their adoptive parents, talking to social services and looking into records that was when I landed my story. I didn’t believe it at first but when I dug deeper turned out the adoptive agency was a sham, there was nothing on the birth parents, no legally signed documents by the birth mother, father or both nothing just signatures by the Diazs’ Now I did my homework, it could ahve been that the Diaz’s were an exception so I peeked into another file, okay my source did, and turned out the same deal. I’ve been meeting up with Abby and Tex and the Diazes know me, much to their chagrin, although they did not know what I did for a living. If I could find out from them how exactly the adoption went down. I hadn’t said much to my boss about it. Ross was strict, very strict, about cases like these that could gather lots of media attention. Besides, I was twenty six, I had only been working there for over a year and I had a PhD to my name but not that much experience in field work so if I wanted him to take me seriously I needed a whole lot more than conjecture. I needed proof and I was heading right where I needed to get it

I know it’s extremely rough and my first time attempting to write anything beyond flash fiction in first person. I guess that’s what NaNo is for-experimenting

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Teaser1-NaNoWriMo 2010

  1. Very interesting.

    Like

    Posted by luckymnlassie | February 12, 2011, 9:16 PM
    • I’m glad you think so 🙂 I need to start working on this. Why does school take over my life?

      Like

      Posted by mdirvine | February 25, 2011, 1:57 AM
