//
you're reading...
Writing Industry, Writing Life

A Lonely Profession, Part II

Before I start with the serious stuff, here’s another YA book (First in a Trilogy) being made into a movie

Delirium

goodreads.com

goodreads.com

Ninety-five days, and then I’ll be safe. I wonder whether the procedure will hurt. I want to get it over with. It’s hard to be patient. It’s hard not to be afraid while I’m still uncured, though so far the deliria hasn’t touched me yet. Still, I worry. They say that in the old days, love drove people to madness. The deadliest of all deadly things: It kills you both when you have it and when you don’t.

A lot of good YA trilogies are being made into movies recently

Divergent

Divergent

Divergent

 

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue–Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is–she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are–and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, Tris also learns that her secret might help her save the ones she loves . . . or it might destroy her.

I haven’t watched any of the  YA movies, mostly because the cast doesn’t fit my imagination of main characters in any way but I might just give them a shot over the summer.


Okay, now on to writing as a lonely profession part II.

This post has been a while coming, delays due to work and world cup.

In Part I,  I wrote about introverts and extroverts, networking for introverts and writing in secret. For people like me who did their writing in secret, I realized I had no feedback on what was working and what wasn’t. I had to find a way to share bits and pieces of my writing with people-cue fictionpress.

At first, you send back and forth emails all professional about grammar, punctuation, plot-holes and then you want to know more about the person behind the screen. What’s your real name? Where are you from? Girl? Boy? Highschool? University? It’s so easy to get personal from behind the screen. It’s definitely easier to “talk” to strangers. I skyped (audio the first few times then later video) with a few of my online friends and now with the documentary and tvshow Catfish, I caution people to take serious safety precautions. However, meeting writing friends is way different than dating online.

So I had a lot of virtual support but I also wanted to build real-life support, support with people I can meet regularly because having someone talking to you face to face about your book is a completely different feeling than any comment you read online. I joined writing meet up groups through meetup.com, and if you participate in NaNoWriMo, go to the meetups in your area. You get to be a part of a writing community and make new friends! Writing friends! because if you are in a science/engineering field at school or at work, you’d find most of your peers do not like to write. I know a lot of people who went into sciences because they did not want to write.

You make new friends and you learn how to talk about your book (it’s actually very difficult to explain what your book is about succinctly if you’ve never done it before). You get to practice developing your pitch in an informal setting.

I had never actually said the words “I am a writer” out loud till I went to a meetup.

It was no longer a secret.

You can’t beat that feeling.

So  Come out of the closet as a writer and if you are already published well then  Go ahead, tell people about your book

 

 

Discussion

Comments are closed.

