//
you're reading...
Writing Life

Must our heroes be handsome?

via Must our heroes be handsome? |.

I’ve never set out to make any of my heroes handsome besides when the plot actually depended on the hero’s looks like Sketch Me Perfect  (His good looks are a deterrent to the heroine, an artist).

I’ve had tall heroes, short heroes, blonds, dark-haired, red-haired, fair skin, dark skin- the list goes on. When I create a hero, the character comes to me first before the looks. Example:

Daniel from my mystery series is an undercover police officer and tends to shift between wanting to be noticed  and wanting to be invisible. He is the quiet, observant type and would never be comfortable in big social settings. Then there are other characteristics that would come with where he grew up, his family, ethnicity etc.

What about you?

Discussion

Comments are closed.

